City Estate Express
Edition: September, 2021

Gujarat allows conversion of GHB housing units from leasehold to freehold


In a significant development, the state government has cleared a proposal to convert housing units of the Gujarat Housing Board (GHB) from leasehold to freehold on payment of a fixed jantri amount.

The state urban development and urban housing department wrote a letter to the GHB commissioner on July 30, 2021, stating that the state government has cleared a proposal to convert leasehold properties to freehold properties on payment of a one-time jantri.

Apart from generating income for the state government, the move will pave the way for residents to own such properties, which they currently hold on lease. Not only will the residents get higher income from sale of these properties, they can also opt for redevelopment.

The issue of Gujarat Housing Board tenants not being able to legally sell their properties was being represented to political leaders for quite some time now. The matter also came up for discussion when the Union home and co-operation minister asked officials to resolve pending issues of GHB tenants.

Occupiers of GHB properties –residential units in buildings, row houses or tenements - hold properties on lease for a fixed period (mostly 99 years). They are not in a position to sell these properties as these are not freehold properties.

With several GHB houses being in posh areas, occupants of GHB houses will opt for converting their properties from leasehold to freehold, say those in the real estate sector. "Once they get the ownership, they will be able to sell these properties to anyone without requiring prior permission. If all the members of the housing society agree, they can even opt for redevelopment as well," said a real estate expert.

During his last review meeting of pending issues in Gandhinagar Lok Sabha constituency, Amit Shah had asked officials to work out a solution to pending issues of GHB occupants. Several areas of Ahmedabad where GHB houses are located, fall under the Gandhinagar LS constituency.

Source: TNN, Gandhinagar